Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



donderdag 09 december 2010
ANTIMATTER: Alternative Matter

Release: 2010-11-26
Style: emotional music
Playing Time: CD 1: 53:29 / CD 2: 54:25
Cat. N°: Pro 109
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 9,5/10


Antimatter was initially the musical project of Duncan Patterson after leaving Anathema. This cooperation with Mick Moss resulted in a debut album ‘Saviour’, now almost ten years ago. Nowadays vocalist/guitarist/composer Mick Moss happens to be the moving spirit and heart of Antimatter. This collection of songs has been selected by him with love for the matter. It is not just a cluster of songs from their four studio albums, but the two discs are filled with rare demo material and alternative versions of these songs. Sometimes it is live and acoustic, other times we are dealing with an innovative mix, mostly influenced by electronic music.

The gigs have always been acoustic, without drummer. During the first tour in 2002, Mick Moss, Duncan Patterson and Anathema guitarist Danny Cavanagh joined on stage for a couple of blood-curdling performances. Later on Mick Moss did some solo gigs, incidentally supported by guitarist Pete Gilchrist (Leafblade) or Duncan. Sometimes with a female singer, since some of the songs were originally sung by a woman. However, the voice of Mick Moss remains the most captivating one, just listen to ‘Black Sun’, a track they once recorded for a Dead Can Dance tribute or amazing versions of the Anathema songs ‘Far Away’ and ‘Lost Control’. ‘Mr. White’, a personal view on a song from Trouble, is genuine and compelling. Antimatter put a spell on you for more than one hundred minutes. Those who ever attended a live gig will find versions that have the nearest approach to the live performances. The jewel case version includes twenty-two songs in a version you never could find, but there is also a special edition in book format. In addition to the 104 pages of the book, you are regaled with an extra CD and DVD. When you are in the mood for quiescent, reflective music, Antimatter is top notch quality!


Antimatter was aanvankelijk het muzikale project van Duncan Patterson nadat hij Anathema verlaten had. Deze samenwerking met Mick Moss leidde zo’n tien jaar geleden tot het maken van het debuut ‘Saviour’. Tegenwoordig is zanger/gitarist/componist Mick Moss het kloppende hart van Antimatter. Deze compilatie is met liefde door hem samengesteld. Het is niet zomaar een collectie songs uit hun vier studioalbums, maar de twee schijfjes zijn gevuld met zeldzaam demomateriaal en alternatieve versies van de songs. Soms is dit live en akoestisch, soms betreft het een eigenzinnige mix die meestal invloeden van elektronische muziek vertoont.

Concerten waren altijd akoestisch, zonder drummer. De eerste tournee in 2002 bracht Mick Moss, Duncan Patterson en Anathema gitarist Danny Cavanagh samen op het podium. Later deed Mick Moss soloconcerten, daarbij sporadisch bijgestaan door gitarist Pete Gilchrist (Leafblade) of Duncan. Soms ook met een zangeres, want sommige songs werden oorspronkelijk door een vrouw ingezongen. De stem van Mick Moss is echter het meest beklijvend, luister maar naar ‘Black Sun’, een nummer dat men opnam voor een Dance Can Dance tribuut of de prachtige versies van de Anathema songs ‘Far Away’ en ‘Lost Control’. Ook ‘Mr. White’, een persoonlijke versie van het Trouble nummer, is eerlijk en aangrijpend. Meer dan honderd minuten houdt Antimatter je in de ban. Wie ooit een concert bijwoonde, heeft nu versies ter beschikking die het meest overeenkomen met de live versies. De gewone dubbele cd bevat tweeëntwintig songs in versies die nooit eerder verschenen, maar er is ook een speciale uitgave in boekvorm. Naast het honderd pagina’s tellende boek biedt dit ook een extra cd en dvd. Als je in stemming bent voor rustige, reflectieve muziek, dan is Antimatter een klasse apart!


CD 1:
Black Sun (Dead Can Dance tribute) 5:24
The Art Of A Soft Landing (acoustic, enhanced) 3:17
Far Away (live) 5:12
Saviour (Reel to Reel demo) 3:05
Landlocked (Mick Moss remix) 4:44
In Stone (acoustic, enhanced) 5:24
Epitaph (new version) 6:47
Terminal (Duncan Patterson remix) 6:02
Mr. White (live) 3:46
Flowers (new version) 4:06
Expire (Lackluster remix) 5:13

CD 2:
God Is Coming (Duncan Patterson remix) 6:45
Everything You Know Is Wrong (acoustic, enhanced) 2:58
A Portrait Of The Young Man (enhanced) 5:22
Flowers (acoustic) 4:07
Holocaust (Reel to Reel demo) 4:48
The Art Of A Soft Landing (4 track demo) 4:14
Expire (Atrabilis Sunrise remix) 5:26
Over Your Shoulder (acoustic) 3:24
Dream (4 track demo) 5:52
Lost Control (acoustic, enhanced) 6:49
Epitaph (orchestral mix) 4:12


Mike Moss: vocals, guitars, keyboards…
Duncan Patterson: bass, electronics…
+ guest musicians

Geplaatst door Vera op donderdag 09 december 2010 - 23:58:53
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2019
ENTOMBED: Clandestine Live
Re-release of their Clandestine concert
01. CD reviews 2019
Fragile melancholy in perfect beauty!
01. CD reviews 2019
Exceptional ethnic experience!
01. CD reviews 2019
STEIGNYR: Myths Through The Shadows Of Freedom
Meritorious Spanish folk metal...
01. CD reviews 2019
TANZWUT: Seemannsgarn
Top quality in medieval rock!

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -