Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



maandag 12 september 2011

Release: 2011-05-23
Style: progressive metal
Label: / Bertus
Country: Finland
Playing Time: CD1: 60m 20s / CD2: 1h 3m 46s
Cat. N°: LMC 303
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 8,5/10


Finnish label Lion Music was founded in 1989 and since then it slowly but surely expanded to an established magnitude where many artists found their home. We are mostly dealing with artists in the following genres: progressive rock/metal, hard rock, AOR and melodic rock. They also have a number of virtuoso guitarists on their roster, which is quite logical since the label was once founded to help Lars Eric Mattsson.

It is a nice gesture of Lion Music to release a double album of which all profits go to the Red Cross in Japan to lend a helping hand to all the victims of the earthquake and tsunami in the land of the rising sun (March 2011). All artists are present with a new song. Next to well-known artists such as Mattsson, Section A, Tomorrow’s Eve, Astra and Winterlong, there are also a few new discoveries (like the Japanese band Early Cross). In the case of Astra, Ashent, Venturia and Iron Mask, one can find the first recordings with a new line-up. Of course there are some guest musicians as well, for instance in ‘End Of Time’ of Milan Polak. Thus we give ultimate support to this initiative. You can get to know many artists by buying this, as well as giving something for a noble aim.


Het Finse Lion Music label werd opgericht in 1989 en is langzaam maar zeker uitgegroeid tot een vaste waarde waar tal van artiesten zich thuis voelen. Het betreft hier artiesten in de volgende genres: progressieve rock/metal, hard rock, AOR en melodic rock. Men heeft ook een aantal virtuoze gitaristen in huis, logisch wanneer je bedenkt dat dit label oorspronkelijk opgericht was voor Lars Eric Mattsson.

Het is een mooi gebaar dat Lion Music nu een dubbelalbum uitbrengt waarvan alle winst naar het Rode Kruis in Japan gaat, dit om de slachtoffers van de aardbeving en tsunami in het land van de rijzende zon (maart 2011) een helpende hand te reiken. Alle artiesten zijn vertegenwoordigd met een nieuwe song. Naast gevestigde waarden als Mattsson, Section A, Tomorrow’s Eve, Astra en Winterlong zijn er ook een paar nieuwe ontdekkingen (zoals de Japanse band Early Cross). In het geval van Astra, Ashent, Venturia en Iron Mask zijn het de eerste opnamen in een gewijzigde bezetting. Natuurlijk zijn er ook een aantal gastmuzikanten, bijvoorbeeld in ‘End Of Time’ van Milan Polak. Dit initiatief geven we dan ook onze volledige steun, want niet alleen maak je kennis met erg veel bands, bovendien steun je een goed doel.


01. Mattsson – Mother
02. Milan Polak – End Of Time
03. Anthriel – Circle Of Life
04. Airless – Second Chance
05. Dreyelands – Life Is Worth The Pain
06. Ashent - Disappearance
07. Mastercastle - Sakura
08. Locomotive Breath - Rise Up (Perspective of The Common Man)
09. Grönholm - Believe
10. Marco Sfogli - Stand Alone
11. Mindsplit - Guardian Angel
12. Missing Tide - Falling
13. Infinity Overture - Do You Care?
14. Jennifer Batten - Sakura Season

01. Overdrive - New Beginning (Arata Na Staato)
02. Emir Hot - Fear of the Storm
03. Venturia - On the Brink
04. Mistheria - Kibou
05. Section A - Survive
06. Status Minor - Drama
07. Mastermind - Time Stands Still
08. Tomorrow's Eve - Black Barren Lands
09. Iron Mask - Sons of the Sun
10. Astra - Voice from Within
11. Benny Jansson- Savior
12. Early Cross - Cairn
13. Winterlong - Failed Connection
14. The Lions - Embrace the Sun


Various Artists

Geplaatst door Vera op maandag 12 september 2011 - 16:07:28
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -