Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



zaterdag 15 juni 2013

Release: 2013-05-24
Style: dark gothic metal
Country: Germany, Stuttgart
Playing Time: 15:45
Cat. N°: MAS-CD 0834
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 7,5/10


Schwarzer Engel is a dark gothic rock/metal project of the German musician Dave Jason, founded in 2007. They have released earlier the albums ‘Apokalypse’ (2010) and ‘Träume Einer Nacht’ (2011), as well as an EP called ‘Geister Und Dämonen’. Late July they will release their next full-length album, entitled ‘In Brennenden Himmeln’. This MCD is a kind of teaser.

For live gigs, Jason is supported by four musicians and this really seems to appeal to the audience that visits Wave Gotik Treffen. On this MCD we hear the main composition ‘Schwarze Sonne’ in three different versions: the main version with appearance of soprano chanteuse Joanna von Orleans (E Nomine), a piano version and another (instrumental) piano version, both featuring El Friede, the keyboardist of Oomph! In addition we can also find the brand new video clip for ‘Schwarze Sonne’. ‘Der Fährmann’ is a common rock song in the vein of Nachtgeschrei, sung with dark male vocals. As before, Dave Jason worked together with producer Jan Vacik at the Dreamsound Studio. This is a band that may likely appeal to the pitch black dressed to kill gothic aficionados.


Schwarzer Engel is een dark gothic rock/metal project van de Duitse muzikant Dave Jason, in het leven geroepen in 2007. Ze brachten eerder de albums ‘Apokalypse’ (2010) en ‘Träume Einer Nacht’ (2011) uit, alsook een EP (‘Geister Und Dämonen’). Eind juli brengen zij hun derde volledige album uit, genaamd ‘In Brennenden Himmeln’. Deze mini-cd is een voorsmaakje.

Live wordt Jason bijgestaan door vier muzikanten en dit lijkt me geknipt voor het publiek van Wave Gotik Treffen. Op deze mini-cd krijgen we het centrale nummer ‘Schwarze Sonne’ in drie uitvoeringen: de hoofdversie met bijdrage van de sopraan Joanna von Orleans (E Nomine), een pianoversie en dan nog eens een instrumentale pianoversie, waarop in beide El Friede, de toetsenist van Oomph! te horen is. Bovendien vinden we hier ook de gloednieuwe videoclip van ‘Schwarze Sonne’. ‘Der Fährmann’ is een met donkere mannenstem gezongen rocksong, zoals we ze ook kennen van Nachtgeschrei. Net als voorheen werkte Dave Jason samen met producer Jan Vacik in de Dreamsound studio. Voor het gitzwart uitgedoste gothic publiek is dit mogelijk een band die in goede aarde zal vallen.


Schwarze Sonne (ft. Johanna von Orleans)
Der Fährmann
Schwarze Sonne (piano version ft. El Friede)
Schwarze Sonne (instrumental piano version ft. El Friede)

+ Video clip ‘Schwarze Sonne’


Dave Jason: vocals, guitars, drums, composition, orchestral arrangements

Guest appearances:

Johanna von Orleans (El Nomine): operatic vocals
El Friede (Oomph!): piano, keyboards
Stefan Dietrich (ex-Mystic Prophecy, Illuminate): drums

Live line-up:

Jens Lindmaier: E-guitar
Stefan Griesshammer: E-guitar
Bert Oeler: bass
Marcel Woitowicz: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op zaterdag 15 juni 2013 - 14:44:48
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -