Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



maandag 11 augustus 2014
DE PROFUNDIS: Frequencies (EP)

Release: 2014-06-19
Style: progressive death metal
Label: self-released /
Country: UK
Playing Time: 20:37
Cat. N°: DP004
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 9/10


In waiting for the fourth studio album from De Profundis that will see the light of day later this year, the London based band releases an EP with four songs: three self-written tracks and one Death cover. Their three previous albums, with ’The Emptiness Within’ (2012) as most recent feat, got us introduced to a band that combines technical skilfulness with magnificent melodies and in despite of undeniable complexity they never loose the essence of things.

While writing this, the band crosses the UK in the wake of Demonic Resurrection, while they will be present for the second time at Bloodstock Open Air as well. Cynic, Death and Opeth remain the main influences, but the five-pieced band manages to give a personal touch to it. This EP shows a rougher side of the band than the albums, death metal prevails. But the progressive intricacies remained, surely in opening track ‘A Strange Awakening’ in which restless textures reign in a massive production. ‘Illumination’ happens to be our favourite highlight of this release, with loads of different moods, going from compelling rather slow tempi till soloing on a bed of the accomplished rhythm section. These solos from Shoi Sen and Paul Nazarkardeh are really sublime, while the low-pitched growls of vocalist Craig Land remain quite unmoved. ‘Singularity’ pumps up the pace, but is extremely tight. Finally we have the Death cover ‘Crystal Mountain’ and this flawless version illustrates one more time the biggest influence of this sympathetic band. We are really looking forward to their fourth album, but we suggest everybody who has a liking for technical death metal to visit, since it would be possible to download this EP for free there. A golden tip in waiting for the fourth full length album! Take my words for granted.


In afwachting van het vierde studioalbum van De Profundis dat later dit jaar zal verschijnen, brengt de in Londen gestationeerde band een EP op de markt met vier songs: drie eigen nummers en een Death cover. Hun drie voorgaande albums, met ’The Emptiness Within’ (2012) als meest recente werkstuk, lieten ons kennismaken met een uitzonderlijke band die technisch vernuft koppelt aan prachtige melodieën en ondanks de complexiteit nooit het noorden kwijt is.

Terwijl we dit schrijven is de band druk bezig met een UK tour met Demonic Ressurection, terwijl ze ook nog voor een tweede keer acte de présence zullen geven op Bloodstock Open Air dit jaar. Cynic, Death en Opeth blijven de invloeden, maar de vijfkoppige band weet er een persoonlijke toets aan toe te voegen. Deze EP is ruwer dan hun reguliere albums, het death metal element staat voorop. Maar de progressieve complexiteit is gebleven, zeker in openingstrack ‘A Strange Awakening’ dat onrustige structuren laat zegevieren in een massieve productie. ‘Illumination’ is ons hoogtepunt van deze uitgave, met heel veel afwisseling, gaande van slepende structuren tot solo’s op een sneller bedje van de kundige ritmesectie. Deze solo’s van Shoi Sen en Paul Nazarkardeh zijn echt subliem, terwijl de lage death grunt van zanger Craig Land er onbewogen bij blijft. ‘Singularity’ is sneller van opsmuk, maar erg strak. Rest ons nog de Death cover ‘Crystal Mountain’ en deze foutloze versie illustreert eens te meer welke de grootste invloed van de sympathieke band is. Wij kijken uit naar het vierde album, maar raden iedereen die houdt van technische death metal aan om te bezoeken, want daar zou je deze EP gratis kunnen downloaden. Een tip die goud waard is in afwachting van het vierde album! Neem dit maar van me aan.


A Strange Awakening (5:10)
Illumination (5:41)
Singularity (4:59)
Crystal Mountain (cover Death) (4:47)


Craig Land: vocals
Shoi Sen: lead guitars
Paul Nazarkardeh: lead guitars
Arran McSporren: bass
Nick Tingle: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op maandag 11 augustus 2014 - 10:05:10
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
THORIUM: Empires In The Sun
Superb heavy metal as it should sound!
01. CD reviews 2021
Eclectic US mix of black, stoner & folk...
01. CD reviews 2021
Members from Mar De Grises...
01. CD reviews 2021
SUIDAKRA: Wolfbite
Announced as Suidakra 2.0 and rejuveniled line up...
01. CD reviews 2021
ALASTOR: Onwards And Downwards
Psychedelic occult disc...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -