Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



woensdag 17 februari 2016
ARRAYAN PATH: Chronicles Of Light

Release: 2016-02-05
Style: power metal
Country: Cyprus
Playing Time: 54’28”
Cat. N°: PBR041
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 7/10


Two years after the previous album, Arrayan Path presents their fifth one, on which they are supported by a real Pleiades of guests.

Industrial intro for the epic mix of heavy and power in the Eastern influenced ‘Solomon Seed’. After this fine introduction follows another catchy song, which is globally less strong. ‘Looking-Glass’ however, with keyboard and the addition of raw vocals, is better, then ‘Orientis’ takes us on a speedy catchy trip. Then follows power ballad ‘Pain’ which can’t live up to its promising intro, while ‘Scorpio’, an English translation of a Greek pop song is a very catchy metalized version. After that we have to wait for ‘December’, starting with an acoustic intro and growing into a beautiful (power) ballad with damned catchy chorus, after which the slow ‘Eulogy’ takes us in pretty majestic fashion to the end of the disc.

These Cypriots have a few great songs, making the rest fade into oblivion. So there’s potential to do better, but this platter is a bit disappointing.


Twee jaar na hun vorig album, stelt Arrayan Path stelt hier hun vijfde voor, waarop ze door een pleiade van gastmuzikanten gesteund worden.

Industrial intro voor een epische mix van heavy en power in het van Oosterse invloed voorziene ‘Solomon Seed’. Na deze prima inleiding volgt weer een catchy nummer, dat globaal echter minder sterk is. ‘Looking-Glass’ met keyboard en de inbreng van rauwe vocalen is echter weer beter, waarna ‘Orientis’ een lekker speedy en catchy track is. Dan volgt powerballad ‘Pain’ dat zijn veelbelovende intro niet kan waarmaken, terwijl ‘Scorpio’, een Engelse versie van een Grieks pop nummer lekker gemetalliseerd in het oor ligt. Daarna is het wachten op ‘December’, dat na een akoestische intro uitgroeit tot een prachtige (power) ballad met verdomd catchy refrein, waarna het slepende ‘Eulogy’ ons vrij majesteitelijk naar het eind van de schijf voert.

Deze Cyprioten hebben enkele prima nummers, die de rest doen verbleken. Er is dus potentieel om beter te doen, maar deze schijf stelt wat teleur.


Solomon Seed (4’52”)
Gabriel Is Rising (5’05”)
The Distorted Looking-Glass (5’54”)
Orientis (3’55”)
Ignore The Pain (5’48”)
Scorpio (CD bonus) (4’07”)
Chronicles of Light (4’40”)
Lex Talionis (7’37”)
December (6’55”)
The Last Eulogy (5’35”)


Nicholas Leptos – vocals, growls and weird noises
Socrates Leptos – guitars, keyboard programming
Alexis Kleidaras - guitars
Paris Lambrou – bass, keyboard programming
Stefan Dittrich – drums

Guest appearances:

Francois Micheletto – lead vocals (Minus One, Marianne’s Wish)
Sotiris Gogos – lead guitar
Kikis Apostolou – lead guitar (Chainsheart)
Kostas Vretos – lead guitar (Jaded Star, Wardrum)
Antonis Mavrou – lead guitar
Huseyin Kirmzi – keyboards
Angelos Vafeiadis - keyboards

Geplaatst door Vera op woensdag 17 februari 2016 - 11:23:14
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -