Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



vrijdag 26 februari 2016
ULYSSES: #eMotion

Release: September 2015
Style: Progressive rock
Label: Symbiosis Music
Facebook: n/a
Country: Netherlands
Playing Time: 58:20
Cat. N°: SYM-1501
English review by: Geert Ryssen
Dutch review by: Geert Ryssen
Rating: 8/10


Ulysses is a band from the Netherlands, a territory where progressive rock is popular and that has produced some very interesting bands in the past. Ulysses follows that tradition and adds some contemporary metal elements. They made their debut as a recording artist in 2001 with the ep ‘Eclectic’. Two full albums followed with ‘Symbioses’ (2003) and ‘The Gift Of Tears’ (2008). Since 2011 they have been working on the follow-up which became this ‘#eMotion’, an album about eight different emotions which are expressed through a song.

Musically their influences go from the seventies progressive rock to the prog metal of today but with still emphasis on the first era. Every emotion is well evoked in pieces that go from four minutes plus to nine minutes plus. They use a lot of light and shade and variation in the sounds. There’s some great instrumental passages too. This album is a well crafted journey through different moods and spheres with a natural production that avoids a clinical studio sound. Interesting band, good compositions!


Ulysses is een Nederlandse band, het land waar progressieve rock nog steeds floreert en dat heel wat interessante bands heeft voortgebracht. Ulysses volgt deze traditie en voegt er enkele hedendaagse metal elementen aan toe. Hun debuut dateert reeds van 2001 met de ep ‘Eclectic’. Daarop volgden twee albums met ‘Symbiosis’ (2003) en ‘The Gift Of Tears’ (2008). In 2011 starten ze het werk aan een opvolger en dat werd deze ‘#eMotion’, een conceptplaat die handelt over acht verschillende emoties in het bestek van nummers die variëren van vier tot negen minuten.

Hun invloeden gaan vooral terug naar de progressieve rock van de jaren zeventig en tachtig, maar de hedendaagse progmetal is niet aan hen voorbij gegaan. Hun muziek bevat veel afwisseling in klank en tempo en ‘#eMotion’ is een mooi stukje vakmanschap dat ons doorheen verschillende stemmingen brengt met bovendien enkele boeiende instrumentale passages. De productie klinkt heel natuurlijk en vermijdt een klinisch studiogeluid. Een interessante band met goede nummers!


Disgust – Sleeping Death
Anticipation – City Of Lost Souls / Desolation
Sadness – Lost What Was Not Mine
Trust – A Modern Lovesong
Surprise – The Unexpected
Fear – When love Becomes
Happiness – Honk If You’re Happy
Anger – Providence / God For One Day


Michael Hos: vocals
Sylvester Vogelenzang: guitar
Gijs Koopman: bas
Ron Mozer: keyboards
René van Haaren: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op vrijdag 26 februari 2016 - 10:08:57








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -