Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



dinsdag 13 september 2016
FATES WARNING: Theories Of Flight

Release: 2016-07-01
Style: progressive metal
Label: -
Country: USA
Playing Time: 52’23” / 21’21”
Cat. N°: IOM CD 458
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 9/10


After years and years of silence, Fates Warning surfaced in 2013 with ‘Darkness In A Different Light’. This time the fans hadn’t to wait as long!

‘From The Rooftops’ begins with a laidback, jazzy prog intro, with modest singing. Through a short passage with bass plucking, we arrive in the hectic, chaotic part of the song, starting with thundering drum, in which Alder can display other facets of his vocal knowhow, we hear a bright guitar solo and get a vocal hook as well. In short, these veterans still deliver creative work, which continues in ‘Seven Stars’, though more straightforward. The drums are more , but still pretty technical, and the main riff is very catchy. ‘SOS’ too has some adventurous, musical twists and then follows ‘The Light’. After a long calm intro, FW gets warmed up and brew a great catchy heavy power prog mixture in this long song which quenches quietly at the end. Enters ‘White Flag’, which is again a relatively straightforward catchy song, for FW standards that is, even if there’s enough breathtaking musicianship at hand. After ‘Like Stars’ comes the main course of this album, ‘Ghosts of Home’, the only song here written by Jim Matheos as states the bio. After some static white noise, follows a long quiet passage, which abruptly crosses into sturdy prog. Again a long song leaving space to get loose limitlessly and without boundaries, without however forgetting the essence of the song. Strong stuff! Great musicians! The title track takes us introspectively and slightly shuddering to the end.

In the limited edition 2 CD version, 6 acoustic bonus tracks are added, of which three covers.

This disc is bound to make it into the top list of prog fans ( and other metallers ).


Na een jarenlange stilte liet Fates Warning weer van zich horen in 2013 met ‘Darkness In A Different Light’. Deze keer moesten de fans niet zo lang wachten!

‘From The Rooftops’ begint met een laid back, jazzy prog intro, met ingetogen zang. Via een kort stukje bas gepluk, komen we in het hectische, chaotisch deel, op gang getrokken door donderende drums, waarin Ray Alder andere facetten van zijn zingen kan demonstreren, we een schitterende solo krijgen en nog een vocal hook ook. Kortom, deze oudgedienden weten nog steeds creatief werk af te leveren, dat zich doorzet in ‘Seven Stars’, weliswaar meer rechttoe rechtaan. De drums zijn bezadigder, maar nog steeds erg technisch, en de hoofdriff is erg catchy. Ook ‘SOS’ bevat avontuurlijke, muzikale wendingen en dan komt ‘The Light’. Na een lange kalme intro, komt FW op temperatuur en brouwt een catchy heavy power prog mix van jewelste in dit lange nummer dat tegen het einde weer rustig uitdooft. Dan komt ‘White Flag’ dat weer eerder relatief rechttoe rockt, naar FW normen dan, zelfs al is er weer adembenemend vakmanschap te horen. Na ‘Like Stars’ komt het hoofdgerecht van dit album, ‘Ghosts of Home’, het enige nummer dat Jim Matheos hier geschreven heeft, zo zegt de bio. Na wat statisch geruis volgt een lang rustig stuk, dat abrupt overgaat in stevige prog. Weer een lang nummer dat ruimte laat om oeverloos en drempelloos erop los te gaan, zonder hoewel de essentie van het nummer uit het oog te verliezen. Straf! Knappe muzikanten! Het titelnummer doet ons introspectief en licht huiverend uitgeleide.

In de beperkte oplage 2 CD versie zijn 6 akoestische nummers toegevoegd, waarvan drie covers.

Deze schijf kan niet anders dan in de jaarlijsten van proggers ( en andere metal fans ) belanden!


From The Rooftops (6’52”)
Seven Stars (5’33”)
SOS (4’34”)
The Light And Shade Of Things (10’14”)
White Flag (5’20”)
Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen (5’13”)
The Ghosts Of Home (10’31”)
Theories Of Flight (4’00”)

Bonus tracks:

Firefly (3’15”)
Seven Stars (4’34”)
Another Perfect Day (3’25”)
Pray Your Gods (3’45”) (Toad The Wet Sprocket cover)
Adela (2’25”) (Joaquin Rodrigo)
Rain (4’03”) (Uriah Heep cover)


Ray Alder – vocals
Jim Matheos – guitars
Joey Vera – bass
Bobby Jarzombek - drums


Geplaatst door Vera op dinsdag 13 september 2016 - 09:01:14
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -