Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



zaterdag 08 oktober 2016
POSEYDON: Masterpiece

Release: 2016-09-03
Style: thrash/death metal
Label: Eigen beheer / Self release /
Country: Belgium
Playing Time: 38:39
Cat. N°: /
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 7/10


The early days of Poseydon go back to 1992 when guitarist Alain De Block founded this band. Initially the band only recorded a single and a demo. That is mainly because De Block concentrated himself for years on Everglow, but in 2010 the reunion of Poseydon led to new work. The first result happened to be ‘Cold World’ with six songs, but now we have the new full length ‘Masterpiece’ including ten songs. During the years the thrash metal band started to insert more and more death metal influences in their compositions. These are mainly noticeable in the rough vocals of Christoph Lamsens, although he sounds more hoarse than producing proper rolling grunts.

The songs include sure-fire guitar skills and soloing of the moving spirit of the band, but in opener ‘Classified’ it leaps to the eye that riffing turned out quite repetitive, being less exciting. The band plays tight and adds any spoken samples in several songs. Tips to listen to are ‘Weakness’ and ‘Innocent Blood’, although we expected more – compose-wise and production-wise – after all these years with loads of experience. This ‘masterpiece’ comes not any further than meritorious.


Poseydon werd reeds in 1992 opgericht door gitarist Alain De Block en heeft in al die tijd aanvankelijk slechts een single en een demo opgenomen. Dat komt deels omdat De Block zich jaren concentreerde op Everglow, maar in 2010 leidde de reünie van Poseydon toch tot nieuw werk. Het eerste resultaat was ‘Cold World’ met zes nummers, maar nu is er het volledige album ‘Masterpiece’ dat tien songs herbergt. In de loop der jaren ging de thrash metal band meer en meer death metal invloeden in de composities toelaten. Deze zijn voornamelijk te horen in de ruwe zang van Christoph Lamsens, al klinkt hij eerder hees dan rollende grunts te hanteren.

De songs bevatten puik gitaarwerk van de bezieler, maar in opener ‘Classified’ valt toch al op dat het riffwerk vrij repetitief is, waardoor het minder boeiend wordt. De band speelt strak en voegt in meerdere songs gesproken samples toe. Luistertips zijn ‘Weakness’ en ‘Innocent Blood’, al hadden we compositorisch en productioneel toch wel beter verwacht met al die ervaring. Dit ‘meesterwerk’ komt niet verder dan verdienstelijk.


Classified (3:59)
Masterpiece (4:16)
Realm Of The Dead (3:11)
The Tempest (4:02)
Blind Faith (4:38)
Pre-Emptive Strike (3:21)
Weakness (4:59)
Tortured Shadows (2:51)
Last Sunset (3:25)
Innocent Blood (3:49)


Christoph Lamsens: vocals
Alain De Block: guitars, backing vocals
Michiel Geleyn: guitars
Jeroen Bonne: bass, backing vocals
Tom Cornelis: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op zaterdag 08 oktober 2016 - 12:00:19
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2017
END OF GREEN: Void Estate
A piece of art brimming with deep draught emotions!
01. CD reviews 2017
This will surely please the fans of trad heavy metal...
01. CD reviews 2017
OBSCURITY: Streitmacht
In Obscurity we trust for some fine pagan metal!
05. DVD reviews 2017
PILEDRIVER: The Boogie Brothers Live In Concert (DVD/2CD)
Pure Status Quo entertainment...
01. CD reviews 2017
ECNEPHIAS: The Sad Wonder Of The Sun
Recommended for diehard nineties doom/gothic fans!

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -