Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.


zondag 18 december 2016
TREES OF ETERNITY: Hour Of The Nightingale

Release: 2016-11-11
Style: melancholic metal / ambient / doom
Website: /
Country: Finland / Sweden
Playing Time: 1h 3m 2s
Cat. N°: Svart 058 CD
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 8,5/10


On the Swallow The Sun album ’New Moon’ Aleah Stanbridge could be heard in the song ‘Lights On The Lake’. It was the beginning of a long time cooperation and guitarist Juha Raivio found his life companion and musical partner in her. They wrote more songs together and the recordings started in 2014. Aleah wrote the lyrics and sings with a mystic, velvet voice; Juha wrote the music and plays guitar. Furthermore Trees Of Eternity is made up of Mattias (bass) and Fredrik Norrman who used to play in Katatonia and now still do in October Tide. Behind the drums one can find another familiar face: ex Swallow The Sun drummer Kai Hahto, now active in Nightwish and Wintersun.

It is strange that it took such a long time before this album was released. To my dismay I found out that Aleah passed away in April this year. What a tragedy when losing someone at such a young age! I delayed listening to this album a bit, since it makes me so sad. But on the other hand it is so beautiful. The calm voice of Aleah is like a gentle caress, a whispered manifest of a dreamy and melancholic person. Naturally the music has many resemblances with Swallow The Sun. The heavy riffs and far reaching melancholy regale the sensitive songs with doom-laden overtones. The quiescent vocals are relished with graceful leads. In ‘Condemned To Silence’ Mick Moss (Antimatter) sings along with Aleah. The soaring sounds and sophisticated drums give it an ambient Antimatter atmosphere. The introspection of current Katatonia can often be found in the thoughtful songs as well. ‘Broken Mirror’ is truly magnificent. A feeling of fragility and autumnal depression comes over you when listening to this delicious and genuine album. It touches your very soul. In the last (and longest) track ‘Sinking Ships’ we hear – in addition to Aleah – captivating vocals of Nick Holmes of Paradise Lost. It is wonderful that Aleah will live on through this album which was recorded with Jens Bogren at the Fascination Street studio. Juha talked for hours with Fursy Teyssier (Les Discrets) to come up with suitable artwork. You see his two big loves on the cover: Aleah and horses. A release that makes you humble and silent…


Op het Swallow The Sun album ‘New Moon’ was Aleah Stanbridge te horen in de song ‘Lights On The Lake’. Het was het begin van een langdurige samenwerking en gitarist Juha Raivio vond een levensgezellin en muzikale partner in haar. Ze schreven meer songs samen en deze werden al in 2014 opgenomen. Aleah schreef de teksten en zingt met een mystieke, omfloerste stem, Juha schreef de muziek en speelt gitaar. Trees Of Eternity bestaat verder uit Mattias (bas) en Fredrik Norrman (gitaar) die vroeger in Katatonia speelden en nog steeds in October Tide. Achter de drums ook al een bekende: ex Swallow The Sun drummer Kai Hahto, nu in Nightwish en Wintersun.

Het is vreemd dat men zo lang gewacht heeft om dit integere album uit te brengen. Tot mijn ontzetting bleek dat Aleah in april overleden is. Wat een tragedie om iemand op zo’n jonge leeftijd te verliezen! Ik heb het beluisteren van dit album dan ook lang uitgesteld, omdat het me zo droevig maakt. Maar het is ook erg mooi. De kalme stem van Aleah is als een streling, een fluisterend manifest van een dromerig en melancholiek iemand. Natuurlijk heeft de muziek veel overeenkomsten met Swallow The Sun. De zware riffs en verregaande weemoed dompelen de gevoelige songs onder in een doomsausje. De rustige zang wordt omkranst door sierlijke leads. In ‘Condemned To Silence’ zingt Mick Moss (Antimatter) mee. De zwevende klanken en gesofistikeerde drums zijn hem op het lijf geschreven. Ook de introspectie van huidige Katatonia is dikwijls in de beschouwende songs terug te vinden. ‘Broken Mirror’ is erg prachtig. Een gevoel van breekbaarheid en herfstige depressie maakt zich van me meester wanneer ik luister naar dit (h)eerlijke album. Het ontroert je tot diep in je ziel. In het laatste (en langste) nummer ‘Sinking Ships’ horen we naast Aleah ook beklijvende zang van Nick Holmes van Paradise Lost. Het is mooi dat Aleah zal blijven verder leven in dit album dat opgenomen werd met Jens Bogren in de Fascination Street studio. Juha praatte urenlang met Fursy Teysier (Les Discrets) om passend artwork te maken. Je ziet zijn twee grote liefdes op de hoes: Aleah en paarden. Een release om stil van te worden…


My Requiem (6:02)
Eye Of The Night (6:05)
Condemned To Silence (5:23)
A Million Tears (7:13)
Hour Of The Nightingale (5:36)
The Passage (6:11)
Broken Mirror (5:56)
Black Ocean (7:02)
Sinking Ships (3:36)
Gallows Bird (9:38)


Aleah Stanbridge: vocals
Juha Raivio (Swallow The Sun): guitars
Fredrik Norrman (ex-Katatonia, October Tide): guitars
Mattias Norrman (ex-Katatonia, October Tide): bass
Kai Hahto (Nightwish, Wintersun): drums

Guest appearances:

Mick Moss (Antimatter): vocals on track 3
Nick Holmes (Paradise Lost): vocals on track 10

Geplaatst door Vera op zondag 18 december 2016 - 18:32:15
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD Reviews 2020
OLD CORPSE ROAD: On Ghastly Shores Lays The Wreckage Of Our Lore
Excellent haunting UK black metal with folklore!
01. CD Reviews 2020
WOLFHEART: Wolves Of Karelia
Amazing inspired album with Winter metal!
01. CD Reviews 2020
Ritualistic folk with blackened harshness...
01. CD Reviews 2020
BLOODBOUND: Bloodheads United (EP vinyl)
Special issue for power metal fans...
01. CD Reviews 2020
Death/metalcore from Luxembourg...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -