Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



vrijdag 23 december 2016

Release: 2016-11-04
Style: melodic death metal
Country: Sweden
Playing Time: 49:33 / 58:27
Cat. N°:
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 9/10


The world has changed quite a bit in the three years that have passed since previous feat ‘Construct’ was released and not for the better. Dark Tranquillity – and particularly their intelligent and social aware front man and lyricist Mikael Stanne – could not remain deaf and blind for this evolution and consequently the Gothenburg icons wrote an album based on rage, fear and worries about this world. Does it mean that it turned into a rigorous manifest without thoughtful moments? On the contrary!

The band – with new bassist Anders Iwers (Tiamat, Ceremonial Oath) and Niklas Sundin playing all guitar parts due to the departure of long time buddy Martin Henriksson – has more than ever played with the contrast of light and shadow in their skilfully arranged compositions. Indeed, the dramatic ‘Encircled’ harasses us with maximum velocity, but in the next song ‘Atoma’ – right away the title track – we also hear piano and melancholic clean vocals. There are clean chants in nearly every song as counterpart for the raucous screaming vocals. They know how to keep this euphonious contrast in ‘Forward Momentum’ and ‘Neutrality’, while the slightly different sounding ‘Force Of Hand’ happens to be regaled with a guest guitar solo of Björn Gelotte of In Flames. This time the prize for most fetching tunes goes to the resigned ‘Faithless By Default’ and the catchy ‘Clearing Skies’ with its melodic centrepiece. Up-tempo energy can be found in the tempestuous ‘The Pitiless’ and ‘When The Storm Screams’. The deliciously dark and doom-like ‘Merciless Fate’ instantly haunts you, while they end in beauty with ‘Caves And Embers’. Although Dark Tranquillity remains true to their signature sound all along the line, yet this album shows a lot of diversity and constant top notch quality. As usual the recordings were done in the Rogue Music Studios of keyboardist Martin Brändström, but the mix and mastering were done at the Gröndahl Studios of David Castillo. Those who buy the limited media book will be surprised. The two bonus tracks on the bonus CD really show a completely different side of Dark Tranquillity with contemplative timbre and soaring sounds. In brief: this is once again an amazing musical adventure as weapon against the coming winter!


In de drie jaar tijd die verstreken zijn sinds het verschijnen van vorig wapenfeit ‘Construct’ is de wereld behoorlijk veranderd en niet ten goede. Dark Tranquillity – met name de intelligente en sociaal bewuste frontman en tekstschrijver Mikael Stanne – kon niet blind en doof blijven voor deze evolutie en de iconen uit Gotenburg schreven dan ook een album geënt op woede, angst en bezorgdheid over deze wereld. Betekent dit een rigoureus manifest zonder bedachtzame momenten? Integendeel!

De band – met nieuwe bassist Anders Iwers (Tiamat, Ceremonial Oath) en Niklas Sundin voor alle gitaarpartijen wegens de uitstap van oudgediende Martin Henriksson – heeft meer dan ooit het contrast van licht en schaduw uitgewerkt in vernuftig gearrangeerde composities. Het dramatische ‘Encircled’ bestookt ons inderdaad met maximum snelheid, maar in het volgende ‘Atoma’ – meteen de titelsong – horen we eveneens piano en weemoedige cleane zang. Deze komt in bijna alle songs aan bod als tegenwicht voor de ruwe schreeuwpartijen. Men weet dit welluidende contrast te behouden in ‘Forward Momentum’ en ‘Neutrality’, terwijl het lichtjes afwijkende ‘Force Of Hand’ verfraaid wordt met een gastgitaarsolo van Björn Gelotte van In Flames. De prijs voor meest aanstekelijke deunen gaat ditmaal naar het berustende ‘Faithless By Default’ en het vlotte ‘Clearing Skies’ met zijn melodieuze middenstuk. Doorjagers vinden we in de vorm van ‘The Pitiless’ en ‘When The Storm Screams’. Heerlijk duister grijpt het doomachtige ‘Merciless Fate’ je meteen bij de lurven, om daarna in schoonheid te eindigen met ‘Caves And Embers’. Hoewel Dark Tranquillity over heel de lijn trouw blijft aan haar welbekende sound, bevat dit album toch heel wat diversiteit en een constant hoge kwaliteit. De opnamen werden als vanouds gedaan in de Rogue Music-studio van toetsenist Martin Brändström, maar mix en mastering gebeurde in de Gröndahl-studio van David Castillo. Wie het gelimiteerde mediabook aanschaft, komt nog voor verrassingen te staan. De twee bonustracks die je daar op een aparte cd vindt, tonen een heel andere zijde van Dark Tranquillity met beschouwend timbre en zwevende klanken. Kortom, weer een hele ontdekkingstocht om ons tegen de volgende winter te wapenen!


Encircled (3:32)
Atoma (4:20)
Forward Momentum (3:41)
Neutrality (4:17)
Force Of Hand (4:22)
Faithless By Default (4:32)
The Pitiless (4:08)
Our Proof Of Life (4:23)
Clearing Skies (3:33)
When The World Screams (3:57)
Merciless Fate (4:23)
Cave And Embers (4:31)

CD2 (Media Book Bonus Tracks)

The Absolute (5:15)
Time Out Of Place (3:39)


Mikael Stanne: vocals
Niklas Sundin: guitars
Anders Iwers: bass
Martin Brändström: keyboards
Anders Jivarp: drums

Guest appearances:

Björn Gelotte (In Flames): lead guitars in track 5
Annelie Johansson: backing vocals in track 3

Geplaatst door Vera op vrijdag 23 december 2016 - 14:12:53
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2017
New album from our favourite Chicago doomsters...
01. CD reviews 2017
EMERALD: Reckoning Day
Nice album, where European power is pimped up with some US metal...
01. CD reviews 2017
COLTSBLOOD: Ascending Into Shimmering Darkness
We have heard way much better in the genre...
01. CD reviews 2017
LES DISCRETS: Prédateurs
Be sure to give this a chance!
01. CD reviews 2017
DAMNATION PLAN: Reality Illusion
Interesting and worthwhile prog metal stuff...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -