Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



vrijdag 12 mei 2017
DAMNATION PLAN: Reality Illusion

Release: 2017-03-10
Style: prog death metal
Country: Finland
Playing Time: 56’17”
Cat. N°:
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 8/10


Damnation Plan is a modern, Finnish prog metal band with melodic death influence and a mix of harsh and clean vocals. After their ‘The Wakening’ debut from 2013, they present the sophomore ‘Reality Illusion’, mixed by Dan Swanö at the Unisound studios.

After an atmospheric, electro intro, going crescendo, they chop in rough with ‘Walls’. Raw vocals/grunt and rushing drums, punctuated with some clean vocals and spoken voice, hectic guitar, solo and melody, while the next song, ‘Truth’, with quiet keyboard intro, is more melodic and straight forward, but equally heavy. ‘Messenger’ has mainly clean vocals and a rather catchy hook, remaining true to the hectic, virtuoso instrumental approach. ‘Blinded Faith’ chops rather wildly along, with keyboard veils in the back. After the dark/gothic, melodic instrumental ‘Empowerment’, ‘Maze’ slowly builds up as an almost ballad, with delicious melody, clean vocals, fragile break and ditto solo. ‘Iron Curtain’ is heavier again with more harsh vocals, hectic parts and delicious guitar solo, while the title track goes prog death all the way, with a quieter break halfway. After ‘Greed’, instrumental, more sober and with some spoken voice, the longest track of this album sets in. ‘Destination’ begins heavy and melodic, clean vocals with grunt intermezzo, keyboards, complex structures, generous introspective break in its midst, followed by a heavy piece, including keys/guitar duel, direction outro.

Damnation Plan closes with a good, but rather misplaced cover of Dio’s ‘Don’t Talk To Strangers’, because it doesn’t matches with their own work.

Anyway, quite interesting and worthwhile prog metal stuff.


Damnation Plan is een moderne, Finse prog metal band met melodieuze death invloed en een mix van rauwe en cleane vocalen. Na hun ‘The Wakening’ debuut van 2013 stellen ze nu de opvolger ‘Reality Illusion’ voor, door Dan Swanö gemixt in de Unisound studios.

Na een atmosferische, electro intro die crescendo gaat, hakt ‘Walls’ er meteen stevig op in. Rauwe stem/grunt en voortsnellende drums, met wat cleane vocalen en parlando, hectische gitaar, solo en melodie, terwijl de volgende, ‘Truth’, met rustige keyboard intro, melodieuzer is en meer rechttoe rechtaan, maar even stevig. ‘Messenger’ heeft voornamelijk clean vocalen en een vrij catchy hook, maar blijft trouw aan de hectische, virtuoze instrumentale aanpak. ‘Blinded Faith’ hakt wild om zich heen met keyboard sluiers op de achtergrond. Na het donker/gothic, melodische instrumentale ‘Empowerment’ komt ‘Maze’ traag op gang als een bijna ballad, met heerlijke melodie, cleane zang, gevoelige break en dito solo. ‘Iron Curtain’ is dan weer steviger met meer rauwe stem, hectische stukken en heerlijke gitaarsolo, terwijl het titelnummer voluit heavy prog death gaat, met een rustiger break halverwege. Na ‘Greed’, instrumentaal, bezadigder en met wat parlando, volgt het langste nummer van dit album. ’Destination’
begint stevig en melodieus, clean vocalen met grunt intermezzo, toetsen, complexe structuren, royale introspectieve break halverwege, gevolgd door een stevige brok, inclusief toetsen/gitaar duel, richting outtro.

Damnation Plan sluit af met een goeie, maar enigszins misplaatste cover van Dio’s ‘Don’t Talk To Strangers’, omdat die eigenlijk niet aansluit op hun eigen werk.

Hoe dan ook, dit blijft interessant en beklijvend prog metal materiaal.


Intro (1’04”)
Beyond These Walls (4’34”)
Rulers of Truth (6’23”)
Rise of the Messenger (5’19”)
Blinded Faith (4’25”)
The Empowerment (2’28”)
Maze of Despair (4’53”)
Iron Curtain Falls (5’02”)
Reality Illusion (6’34”)
A Chapter in Greed (1’55”)
The Final Destination (8’26”)
Don’t Talk To Strangers (5’17”)


Asim Searah – clean vocals
Tommy Tuovinen – harsh vocals
Kalle Niininen – guitars
Antti Lauri – guitars
Jukka Vehkamaa - bass
Jarkko Lunnas - drums

Geplaatst door Vera op vrijdag 12 mei 2017 - 19:38:45
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
THORIUM: Empires In The Sun
Superb heavy metal as it should sound!
01. CD reviews 2021
Eclectic US mix of black, stoner & folk...
01. CD reviews 2021
Members from Mar De Grises...
01. CD reviews 2021
SUIDAKRA: Wolfbite
Announced as Suidakra 2.0 and rejuveniled line up...
01. CD reviews 2021
ALASTOR: Onwards And Downwards
Psychedelic occult disc...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -