Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.


maandag 20 november 2017
OZ: Transition State

Release: 2017-10-20
Style: heavy metal
Label: /
Country: Finland
Playing Time: 57:48
Cat. N°: AFM 640-2
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 8/10


In 1983 this Finnish band made with ‘Fire In The Brain’ an album that would grow to be a milestone in Scandinavian heavy metal. Since 1991 this is the first new album, recorded with a fresh line-up in which only the drummer remains from the early years.

Opener ‘Bone Crusher’ is a time warp to the early eighties with a cyclone of riffs and a voice suiting remarkably well the music. ‘Restless’ sounds even more authentic NWOBHM. ‘Beast’ continues in that vein, but slower, with Vince showing off his ability to shout and howl. ‘Hell’ has something of early Maiden, while ‘Babylon’ somewhat recalls an epic Samson track, and so on. ‘Close Your Eyes’, with bass in the intro, is also fine old fashioned stuff, while ‘Mountain’ starts rather fragile and grows in to a pounding track.
Then ‘Demonized’ is a fast drum driven track rich in riffs. A bit later, ‘Sister Red’ starts off as a ballad but turns out to be thé epic of the album. ‘Midnight’ closes in a poignant way.

A real treat for aficionados of early eighties metal, upgraded by the production of the 21st century.


In 1983 maakte deze Finse band met ‘Fire In The Brain’ een schijf die een mijlpaal in Scandinavische heavy metal zou worden. Sinds 1991 is dit het eerste nieuwe album, opgenomen met een frisse bezetting waarin enkel de drummer ooit in de originele line-up zat.

Opener ‘Bone Crusher’ is een tijdreis naar de vroege eighties met een rauwe wervelwind aan riffs en een stem die er wonderwel bij past. ‘Restless’ klinkt zelfs meer authentiek NWOBHM. ‘Beast’ trekt de lijn door, maar is trager, met Vince die zijn vaardigheid in huilen en roepen demonstreert. ‘Hell’ heeft iets van de vroege Maiden, terwijl ‘Babylon’ enigszins een episch Samson nummer oproept, en, zo gaat het verder. ‘Close Your Eyes’ met baslijn in de intro is ook lekker ouderwets, terwijl ‘Mountain’ fragiel begint en uitgroeit tot een stampende track. Dan komt ‘Demonized’, een snel, door drums gestuwd nummer rijk aan riffs. Even later begint ‘Sister Red’ als ballade, maar blijkt dé epische track van de schijf te zijn. ‘Midnight’ sluit snedig af.

Een echte traktatie voor liefhebbers van vroege eighties metal, upgraded met de productie van de 21ste eeuw.


Bone Crusher ‘4’07”)
Restless ‘3’48”)
Heart of A Beast ‘4’42”)
Drag You To Hell ‘4’40”)
Whore of Babylon (bonus) (5’20”)
The Witch (4’35”)
In A Shadow Of A Shotgun (3’55”)
Never Close Your Eyes (3’30”)
The Mountain (5’19”)
Demonized (3’55”)
We’ll Never Die (4’28”)

Sister Red (bonus) (5’40”)
Midnight Screams (bonus) (3’25”)


Vince Kojvula – vocals
Johnny Cross – guitar
Juzzy Kangas - guitar
Peppy Peltola - bass
Mark Ruffneck - drums

Geplaatst door Vera op maandag 20 november 2017 - 15:25:28
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2019
BJORN RIIS: A Storm Is Coming
Mellow beauty from the Norwegian Airbag guitarist...
01. CD reviews 2019
ARSTIDIR LIFSINS: Saga á tveim tungum I: Vápn ok viðr’
My biggest respect for this piece of art!!!
01. CD reviews 2019
BELZEBUBS: Pantheon Of The Nightside Gods
Intruiging band with sure-fire blackened metal!
01. CD reviews 2019
ASTRAL DOORS: Worship Or Die
Epic heavy metal with passion...
01. CD reviews 2019
FRACTAL UNIVERSE: Rhizomes Of Insanity
Very technical skilled French death metal with intellectual flair...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -