Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



woensdag 03 januari 2018
HÄIVE: Iätön

Release: 2017-11-24
Style: black/folk/pagan metal
Label: Eisenwald
Country: Finland
Playing Time: 40:51
Cat. N°: Eisen125
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 8,5/10


Fifteen years long already, the Finnish musician Janne “Varjosielu” Väätäinen operates under the moniker Häive as gem in the underground in the pagan metal scene. Lots of demos, an EP and the debut album ‘Mieli Maassa’ were released a long time ago. The sophomore full length ‘Iätön’ (Finnish for timeless) is finally recorded now, with Esoteric’s Greg Chandler in his Priory Recording Studios.

The recognizable, yet captivating mix of black metal and folk totally convinces us this time again. The love for nature is transferred into acoustic fragments, magnificent melodious guitar leads and snappy blackened screams, but also few low ranged grunts. There is a kind of Burzumesque grandness in the air when top notch songs like the title track and ‘Turma’ blow the speakers. As tip to listen to, we also want to mention ‘Tuonen Lehto, Öinen Lehto’ in which the sound of crystal clear water runs through a mighty composition with piano and beautiful guitar sounds, while the melancholic timbre is regaled with ultra tight riffs. This is black metal with depth, the kind of stuff we like to hear. Indeed, this deserves to be labeled as timeless!


Reeds vijftien jaar opereert de Fin Janne “Varjosielu” Väätäinen onder de naam Häive als undergroundparel in de pagan metalscène. Veel demo’s, een split, een ep en het debuutalbum ‘Mieli Maassa’ liggen jaren achter ons. Het volledige tweede album ‘Iätön’ (Fins voor ‘tijdloos’) is nu eindelijk opgenomen en dat met Esoteric’s Greg Chandler in zijn Priory Recording-studio.

De herkenbare, maar beklijvende mix van black metal en folk overtuigt ons ook ditmaal volledig. De liefde voor de natuur wordt geuit in akoestische fragmenten, prachtige melodieuze gitaarsolo’s en snibbige krijszang, maar ook lage grunts. Er hangt Burzumeske grandeur in de lucht wanneer topsongs als het titelnummer en ‘Turma’ uit de boxen spatten. Als tip willen we zeker ook ‘Tuonen Lehto, Öinen Lehto’ vermelden waarin het geluid van helder water doorheen een machtige compositie met piano en fraaie gitaarlijnen loopt, terwijl het weemoedige timbre aangezet wordt met strakke riffs. Black metal met diepgang zoals wij het graag horen, welke inderdaad het predicaat tijdloos mag krijgen!


Iätön (Ageless) (1:55)
Turma (Ruin) (4:40)
Lapin Kouta (Kouta From Lapland) (6:50)
Kuku, kultainen käkeni (Sing My Golden Bird) (5:14)
Tuulen Sanat (The Spell Of Wind) (3:32)
Salojen Saari (Esoteric Isle) (5:22)
Tuonen Lehto, öinen lehto (Grove Of Tuoni, Grove Of Evening) (5:31)
Virsi Tammikuinen (Song Of January) (7:39)


Varjosielu: electric & acoustic guitars, drums, bass, mouth harp, keyboards
Noitavasara: session vocals

Geplaatst door Vera op woensdag 03 januari 2018 - 11:25:23
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD Reviews 2018
SOLSTICE: White Horse Hill
Mighty epic doom from Englander cult band!
01. CD Reviews 2018
EÏS: Stillstand Und Heimkehr (MCD)
Two new songs in harsh blackened style!
06. CD reviews 2017
WILDESTARR: Beyond The Rain
Good songs in a rough mix of power and heavy metal with great voice and stellar guitar.
01. CD Reviews 2018
A complex band in ongoing development...
06. CD reviews 2017
ATROCITY: Masters Of Darkness (MCD)
A fine taster of coming turbulence!

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -