Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



dinsdag 16 januari 2018
ATROCITY: Masters Of Darkness (MCD)

Release: 2017-12-08
Style: melodic death metal
Country: Germany
Playing Time: 17:12
Cat. N°: MAS DP 1001
Review by: Vera
Translated by: Vera
Rating: 8,5/10


Atrocity always had the courage to vary in different styles, but since the beginning of the ‘Okkult’ trilogy in 2013, we are assured of a heavier, brutal sound again. As forerunner of ‘Okkult II’ – which will be released later, in 2018 – this four songs including EP ‘Masters Of Darkness’ happens to be a welcome taster.

The production by Alex Krull is raucous, yet bombastic. The title track sounds menacing, with tight guitars and Alex’s juicy grunts. Also in ‘Menschenslachthaus’ they go for a ruthless brutal approach. Massive choirs are a pleasant, solemn addition, while ‘Gates To Oblivion’ and ‘Devil’s Covenant’ are amazing tasters as well, due to their perfect balance between roughness and catchiness. The first two songs will also be released as single.


Atrocity heeft altijd de moed gehad om verschillende stijlen aan te pakken, maar sinds het begin van de ‘Okkult’ trilogie in 2013, zitten we terug gebeiteld voor een hardere, brutale sound. Als voorbode van ‘Okkult II’, dat later in 2018 zal verschijnen, vormt deze vier songs tellende ep ‘Masters Of Darkness’ een uitnodigende voorbode.

De productie door Alex Krull is ruw, maar bombastisch. Het titelnummer klinkt dreigend, met strakke gitaren en Alex’s sappige death grunt. Ook in ‘Menschenslachthaus’ legt men de zweep erop. Massieve koren vormen een weldadige, plechtige toevoeging, terwijl ook ‘Gates To Oblivion’ en ‘Devil’s Covenant’ de perfecte smaakmakers zijn vanwege hun puike balans tussen ruwheid en aanstekelijkheid. De eerste twee songs komen ook uit als single.


Masters Of Darkness (4:04)
Menschenschlachthaus (4:30)
Gates To Oblivion (4:22)
Devil’s Covenant (4:10)


Alexander Krull: vocals
Thorsten Bauer: guitars, bass
Pete Steit: guitars
Joris Nijenhuis: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op dinsdag 16 januari 2018 - 16:01:22
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

05. DVD reviews 2020
SEPTICFLESH: Infernus Sinfonica MMXIX (DVD/2CD)
A dream come true for band, orchestra & choirs!
01. CD Reviews 2020
NIGHT IN GALES: Dawnlight Garden
Recommended for melodic death freaks...
01. CD Reviews 2020
Enjoyable firm power metal from unknown outfit...
01. CD Reviews 2020
CONSTRAINT: Tides Of Entropy
Very good symphonic power metal with skills...
01. CD Reviews 2020
AIRBAG: A Day At The Beach
Superb blend of Floyd and new wave...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -